Inside Michigan Politics 2014 House Rankings

Contact: Publisher Susan J. Demas, 517.420.6779,

Irwin, Roberts Most Liberal
McMillin, Franz, Lund Most Conservative

The 2014 election is a little more than six weeks away, and Inside Michigan Politics has the definitive rankings of the Most Liberal and Most Conservative members of the House of Representatives.

Three Republicans hold the title of Most Conservative this year: Reps. Tom McMillin (R-Auburn Hills), Ray Franz (R-Onekama) and Pete Lund (R-Shelby Twp.). They each posted a 7.14% liberal voting record.

Rep. Greg MacMaster (R-Kewadin) had the second-most conservative voting record with 7.69%. There was a six-way tie for third place (10.71%) between Reps. Frank Foster (R-Petoskey), Tom Hooker (R-Byron Center), Bob Genetski (R-Saugatuck), Ken Goike (R-Ray Twp), Joel Johnson (R-Clare) and Aric Nesbitt (R-Lawton).

Foster was the lone member of the Legislature to lose in the August primary, where even having the third-most conservative voting record wasn’t enough to save him from a challenge from the right.

Two Democrats tied for Most Liberal in 2014: Reps. Jeff Irwin (D-Ann Arbor) and Sarah Roberts (D-St. Clare Shores). They both had 92.86% liberal voting records.

Rep. Rashida Tlaib (D-Detroit) had the second-most liberal voting record with 89.29%. Rep. Vicki Barnett (D-Farmington Hills) came in third with 85.71%.

Inside Michigan Politics has been compiling the list for more than 25 years. The rankings are based on 28 litmus test roll-call votes in the state House of Representatives this year..

For the IMP rankings, 100% is the gold standard for a representative who voted the liberal position on roll calls for an array of social, economic, taxation, environmental, civil rights, and public health/safety issues. If a roll call was missed, it was simply thrown out.

IMP has ranked all 110 members of the state House in 2014. That list is available to subscribers in our Sept. 22, 2014, edition.

The list of the top three Most Liberal and Most Conservative House members from 2009 to 2013, is available at